city trip: south of france

As I sit here in the typical-rainy Netherlands, I reminisce of my summers in south of France – my bestfriend/roommate from Montreal is lucky enough to be there right now! When we moved back to The Netherlands after living overseas for almost 10 years, we started a tradition of going to the south of France in the summers. We explored Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Nice, renting a house for a few weeks in the French Riviera. Our days consisted of lounging by the pool, tanning on the beach, exploring a small town in the mountains or shopping in Nice, driving along the Corniches close to Cannes and Monaco, eating fabulous French cheeses and French baguettes… Paradise.

I have put together a short photoessay of pictures I’ve taken over the years of this beautiful part of the country. I hope you enjoy it!

These first two photographs were taken in a small village close to Nice in June of 2007, and I am completely obsessed with the deep warm colors of the buildings… these colors I will know forever associated with the French Riviera/Cote d’Azur.

A short drive to the beautiful Monte Carlo, Monaco…

Twice, we rented the same house in a small neighborhood close to Nice. One of the smaller towns close by was that of Valbonne, an adorable place with small streets and hidden boutiques, beautiful architecture, weekly markets and great restaurants.

Any trip to the South of France isn’t complete without a visit to the beaches and a glance at the sparkling blue water…

What I love about the city of Nice is that it has it all: city and beach. After a day of shopping and a quick bite to eat, you can head to the beach for the rest of the afternoon…

And of course, more beaches…

And one of my favorite photographs is that of a wishing tree, that I came across while wondering through the small village of Saint Paul de Vence. There is something so beautiful, so peaceful, so intriguing even, about a wishing tree.

I hope you have enjoyed these photographs, and I don’t know about you, but I want to get on a plane right now and jet off to the South!

Leave a Reply

