across town (london)

On Thursday, my sister had to go to class all day and I spent the day exploring new neighborhoods, making a school visit, walking down the Birdcage where the London Marathon would soon take place, through St. James’ Park to Buckingham Palace, and more. Here’s an overview of my day!

I took the tube all the way up to Finchley Road to visit a university campus…

Then back down to Westminster to start my “historic walk,” or so I considered it! Started at the Big Ben…

Past the Houses of Parliament…

And past Westminster Abbey (where the Royal Wedding will take place on April 29th, oh Londoners and the Royal Wedding, they can’t get enough! The amount of ridiculous souvenirs for sale these days…) I ended up walking down the Birdcage Walk and saw them setting up for the Virgin London Marathon 2011 (which took place on Sunday, April 17th)…

And through St. James’ Park…

To Buckingham Palace…

Spotted this ridiculous German news broadcast, haha, in preparation for the Royal Wedding I’m assuming?

Then past Fortnum and Mason to a local coffee shop for a needed caffeine kick!

And finally past Trafalgar Square to the National Portrait Gallery for the exhibition, “Hoppé Portraits: Society, Studio and Street,” on display till May 30, 2011. Love the London 2012 Olympics countdown…

And my sister and I went to see the incredibly talented Ben Howard at The Borderline (be sure to check out his Myspace, Facebook, Twitter and Youtube channel, and if you have the chance to see him live, do it, you won’t be disappointed!)…

What a wonderful way to finish a busy day in London!

2 thoughts on “across town (london)

  1. Pingback: 2011: A Year In Review. | brand new day

  2. Pingback: Photoessay: A little pink… | amsterdam by mae

Leave a comment